Leave a comment

Meet Author Melanie Jones

melanie                                      Melanie Jones – Author of  L’Amour Actually

Meet Melanie Jones! She has written a lovely book called L’Amour Actually. L’Amour Actually is a fictionalized travel memoir (see, she even created her own genre) loosely based on her adventures living in South West France. Melanie tells her readers that some of it happened, and it did but not exactly as she wrote it and some of it didn’t happen at all. She lets the reader decide which is which but remember, sometimes truth is stranger than fiction.

When a 20 something marketing executive moves to rural France on little more than a whim and a prayer, she wonders how different can it be? After all, its two countries separated by a narrow strip of water. It doesn’t take her long to find out that the answer to that question is ‘very’.  Her first attempts to integrate with her neighbors end in embarrassing disaster and from then on it goes steadily downhill.

 L’Amour actually has a cast of bonkers characters, lots of laugh-out-loud moment, a talent show has-been who might just save the day, hunky French farmers and a dead celebrity cat all mixed in with a bit of love and a lot of heartbreak. It has currently had 26 straight 5 star reviews on Amazon and one 4 star – oh well, you can’t win them all!

L’Amour Actually is available to buy or download onto your Kindle at amazon.com and amazon.co.uk as well as in all good bookstores and please support an author and leave a review

Onto our 10 Random questions……………………….

1.  Are you a good cook?

No,  I’m a rubbish cook and I don’t enjoy cooking either. That’s why I married a man who was an excellent cook

2.      If you had friends round what DVD’s would you have to watch?

Steel Magnolias. Even the boys would have to watch it and I defy them not to cry. I love that film so much. It celebrates women

3.      On a scale of 1-10 how funny would you say you are?

Read my book! I’m HI-LAR-I-OUS (apparently!)

4.      Who was your favorite teacher at school and why?

Interesting question. My favourite teacher at school is actually a teacher at my son’s school. He’s the teacher you always wished you’d had. I went to an all girls school and the teachers were very straight-laced and dull.  Mr O’C, my son’s geography teacher, on the other hand, is a legend. I even wanted to go back to school just so I could be in his class

5.      What’s your favorite song beginning with the letter I?

I Will Always Love You. Who couldn’t love a big Witney belter – and I met Kevin Costner once too

6.      Have you ever owned a slinky?

Yes, but I got it all tangled up within about 5 minutes

7.      Do you have to wear glasses?

Yes, darn it!

8.      What’s the best way to your heart?

Hugs, without a doubt

9.      Do you own a lava lamp?

No

10.  Have you ever danced in the rain?

Many, many times and I will many times in the future too. You can’t beat a good rain dance

Leave a Reply

